SALTISE 2016 Post-Conference Update

Dear Member,

The 5th Annual Conference was a great success with record attendance, over 250 participants. Responses to our post conference survey highlight the value in the presentations and talks as well as the opportunities for intellectual exchange and networking with colleagues.One of our long-time supporters, summed up the conference in the following way:

“SALTISE sets the standard for the most intellectual driven content in the network of educational conferences. This year’s programming was excellent and the line-up of speakers were so well researched, such as the Techno-Pedagogy symposium: How to Promote collaboration – interesting, clear and thought provoking.”

The ideals of SALTISE to bring together educational researchers and practitioners is meeting a need. With each conference we are getting to know each other better; and, SALTISE, as a community of practice, is the better for these opportunities to share and learn from each other.

Over the next few months the Conference Committee will begin taking on the challenge of planning the 2017 conference, hoping to make it even better. If you are interested in working toward this goal, or if you are interested in working on other SALTISE sponsored committees, please contact us. We welcome your involvement.

In closing, thank you to all who attended the Conference and congratulations to the winners of the SALTISE awards, read below for more details. And, stay tuned for more photos from the Conference, which will appear on our brand new website, due to be launched in early September. We can’t wait to show it off.

Wishing you an enjoyable continuation of the summer vacations!


p.s., photos of Conference provided by JS Photography, contact:



SALTISE Best Practices & Pedagogical Innovators AWARDS

This year, in addition to our Lifetime of Contribution Award, deservedly awarded to Professor Kenneth J. Ragan of McGill University, SALTISE honoured four colleagues with the “Best Practices & Pedagogical Innovators Awards” – three college and one university level. These awards recognize educators who stand out as leaders in the promotion of academic excellence, use of innovative pedagogies, and support of their academic communities. We are happy and proud to present these recipients who truly represent the best among us!

The 2016 recipients are:



Kenneth J. Ragan, McGill University
Professor Ragan brings a scholarly, evidence-based scientific approach to teaching by systematically
implementing and critically analyzing classroom innovations. He contributes to the broader teaching community; he is unfailingly generous in sharing his experiences with colleagues across disciplines and across institutions. He has been a role model exemplifying how university and college faculty can work towards the common goal of improved pedagogical implementations.
Rosemary Reily, Concordia University
As an innovative and ground-breaking pedagogue, Professor Reily uses student-oriented pedagogy and active learning strategies to promote creativity, reflection and deep understanding. She defines clear outcomes, fosters open discussions, and uses adapted assessment tools to check their realization. 
Marielle Beauchemin, Vanier College
Professor Beauchemin has been a dynamic and inspirational model to her students and active faculty member in the promotion and development of information technology in teaching and learning.  Her ongoing commitment to active learning methods and to student learning is commendable.
Jean-François Brière, Dawson College
Professor Brière is an engaging and innovative instructor, an ever-present contributor to departmental, program and college level initiatives He is a perfect example of a successful instructor, able to reach his students and provide them with opportunities for deeper learning that so many instructors struggle to achieve. Professor Brière is humble, generous and at the forefront of pedagogical innovation. 
Lynda Gelston, John Abbott College
Professor Gelston’s constant striving for innovation, pedagogical improvement, and reaching out to faculty is truly inspirational. She has spearheaded the teaching in Abbott’s new ALC since it’s inception. She is as devoted to her students as to her colleagues, and truly inspires all those who encounter her.

We are hoping these winners will indulge our request to share some of their “best practices” and “lessons learned”. Their stories are worth reading! Stay tuned for more news on about this on the SALTISE website. 




Make your research interests work toward an advanced degree!

In December 2013, Dawson College, John Abbott College and la Faculté des sciences de l’éducation de l’Université de Montréal signed an agreement that enables college professors involved in research on the teaching and learning of their discipline to pursue doctoral studies at UdeM.

The first pilot cohort started the program in January 2015.
We are now ready to open a second cohort.

Candidates must possess a master’s degree in an appropriate scientific field and preferably hold a position as a college science instructor. The official study programme is the PhD in Didactique at UdeM. Required coursework for these cohorts consists of five courses: a research seminar, two educational methodology courses, a readings course and a research internship course; the latter two are done in a college environment under the supervision of the programme directors. Research dissertation topics are expected to relate to problems stemming from the teaching practice of the candidates. Students may request that coursework, comprehensive examination, thesis proposal and dissertation be written in English.

For more information, contact one of the programme directors: