SALTISE (Supporting Active Learning & Technological Innovation in Studies of Education), and S4 (Systems, Supporting, Student Success) is a learning community service that brings together instructors and professional development staff from English and French educational institutions within the greater Montreal area, as well as other regions of Quebec. The key goals of SALTISE/S4 are based on the ideals of implementing evidence-based pedagogy involving instructional innovations and often leveraging the use of educational technology to promote improved learning.


Objectives of the Association

SALTISE/S4 organizes events and workshops designed to aid the education community and all who are interested in developing ways to encourage greater student engagement leading to learning. Increased student engagement leads to a more successful pedagogy.  SALTISE/S4 has hosted international and national scholars, as well as provided opportunities for local experts to share best practices in the area of active learning pedagogy and the use of technology. Over the years, these activities have brought together hundreds of instructors from around Quebec. SALTISE/S4 members have presented their expanding repertoire of best practices at conferences in Quebec, across Canada, and internationally. SALTISE/S4 members are among some of the most dedicated instructors and have won provincial and national awards for their inventiveness, design of pedagogical innovations and community building – e.g., the Shifting Minds National Award from the C21 Canada; Canadian Association of Physicists teaching award (2011 & 2013); and the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education College Sector Educator Award 2012 & 2016, among others.


Purpose of the website

The SALTISE/S4 website is intended as a resource for its members and all who are interested in exploring ways to better implement evidence-based pedagogical practices. The tools, articles, activities, and technologies presented represent the best of our promising practices along with accomplishments and resources produced by members. Lastly, the website is a showcase of SALTISE/S4 sponsored events, most notably our Annual Conference, held in June and hosted by one of our member institutions on the island of Montreal. All information presented within the website is shared freely and not intended for any monetary gain. For more information refer to our Terms of Use.



SALTISE began as a two-year Chantier 3 inter-order grant1 funded by Quebec’s Ministry of Education, Sports and Leisure (MELS)

Grant title: L’appel à la technologie et à l’innovation pour parfaire l’enseignement des sciences, grant #1126.
Grant written by: Professors Robert Bracewell, Gail Seiler & Roger Azevedo (McGill’s Faculty of Education); Professors Elizabeth S. Charles & Silvia d’Apollonia (Dawson College); Professor Nathaniel Lasry (John Abbott College). Collaborators: Professor Ken Ragan (Faculty of Science, McGill); Professors Marielle Beauchemin & Kevin Lenton (Vanier College); Murray Bronet (John Abbott College); Chris Whittaker & Suzanne Kunicki (Dawson College).
Grant awarded: 2011-13

SALTISE/S4 owes its continued existence to funding from the Entente Canada-Québec funding agency. This provincially managed, cross-Canada program, supports education-based initiatives for minority language and second language education projects that promote improving the quality of education for students of the linguistic minority and conditions learning second languages.

Grant title: Active Learning & Pedagogical Innovation Center (ALPIC). French title: Centre d’apprentissage actif et d’innovation pédagogique.
Grant written by: Professors Elizabeth S. Charles (Dawson College) & Nathaniel Lasry (John Abbott College), grant held by Dawson College in collaboration with John Abbott College.
Grant awarded: 2014-15; 2015-16; 2016-17

Chantier 3 is considered the Projet Interordre – Programme de collaboration universités – colleges. The Project title: L’appel à la technologie et à l’innovation pour parfaire l’enseignement des sciences.


Saltise Executive Members

SALTISE’s organizational structure is composed of 13-members: two Directors and 11 Executive Committee members. The aim of this structure is to have representatives from all of our participating institutions. With that, the number of members on the Executive Committee is not rigid but is intended to be expanding.


Dr. Elizabeth Charles
Dr. Nathaniel Lasry

Executive committee

John Abbot College
Dr. Murray Bronet
Prof. Michael Dugdale

Vanier College
Dr. Marielle Beauchemin
Dr. Kevin Lenton

Dawson College
Prof. Chris Whittaker

Champlain College
Jim Sparks

McGill University
Dr. Ken Ragan
Dr. Maria Orjuela-Laverde

Anastassis Kozanitis

Concordia University
Dr. Rob Cassidy
John Bentley